Lesa Lu

Lesa Lu and you can too!

Best Books of 2011

on December 31, 2011

Now on to my favorite part of 2011 . . The books!

Probably my favorite book of the year was the new Stephen King novel

This book was awesome! I must say though it was far less gruesome then most of his books, it was definitely the best one I read all year! Jake, the main character, is a teacher who is introduced to a wormhole that leads back to 1958. His mission is to go back in time and prevent the Kennedy assassination in November of 1963. Wow, you simply must read this book!

Another great Stephen King I read this year was

Now this is more of the truly terrifying King you are all used to reading. I listened to this on audio which definitely amped up the creepy factor! It is a collection of short stories, my favorite being the first story about the farm and the rats. I know, at least for myself, some of King’s short stories are hit and miss but this was certainly a hit! But honestly there isn’t anything by King i’ve read and haven’t liked. I swear everything the man touches is golden.

Another great book is Flashback by Dan Simmons

Now this book is your typical story about the breakdown of society except for one thing. A new drug called Flashback has taken over the world. It’s users can experience real-life ‘flashbacks’ of past events, which is convenient because in this book the whole world has kind of gone down the toilet! This book rings eerily true to current events. It basically starts right now and talks about how bad the economy is and what will happen in the future if we don’t fix our problems now. Creepy book and kind of a slow read but I would have to say it is worth it.

Another odd book I found at my local library was The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This book was so well described I honestly thought I was a part of this circus. Though sometimes all the switching between different characters, times and places got a little confusing. This was a very original book and I was intrigued simply by it’s cover, which is why I first came home with it. Pretty good read and full of wonderfully imaginative magic.

The latest book I finished was Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This book was such an amazing idea for a book that I simply could not wait to get my hands on it! In fact I even had to request that my library purchase a copy since they did not already have one. Okay so the idea is that the author found all these uber creepy old pictures of children and then made up a book that tells the story of the pictures. I don’t know if you can tell or not but the girl on the cover of the book is levitating!! It got to the point where I couldn’t read the book at night after drew was asleep because there you are enjoying a semi-creepy book in a dark quiet house when BOOM! levitating girl picture in your face! The story was really good too, it kind of involved time travel (called “loops” in this book) that protects these ‘peculiar’ children from these scary monsters that want to eat them. But the best part was by far the pictures because they were authentic and spooky! If you are looking for an interesting new book I suggest you try this one.

This book I listened to on audio, it’s Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mom by Amy Chua

This book almost made me change my entire parenting strategy! It’s all about how Chinese parents are different then Western parents. For one thing they do not allow their children to attend sleepovers or choose their own extracurricular activities. They also must play Violin or Piano and practice for sometimes 3 hours a day everyday! At first I thought wow Chinese mothers really have it all figured out. Her children are so smart and well behaved and disciplined. But then she introduced Lulu. Lulu is her Maddox. Completely bullheaded and exactly like their bullheaded moms. So what ensues is a battle of the bulls where the momma does not always emerge the winner. And she starts to realize that even if she wins the battle she is pushing her daughter further and further away from her. So she adopts a more ‘western’ approach to parenting. This is a really good example of  how something that is completely the norm in one culture could be considered on the verge of child abuse in another. Great, great book, and if you get the audio version it is read by the author!

Theres one more Stephen King book I wanted to add, however it came out in 2006 but I just now got around to reading it.

Wow this  book was pretty creepy. I also listened to the book on audio on my long drives home from clinicals, which always happened to be after dark. I must admit I found myself always checking the backseat in my car while I was listening to this book. Actually the husband just finished it so it’s pretty fresh in our minds. It’s another break down of society book only this time it’s made everyone who owns a cell phone turn into crazy zombies! Very creepy and very gruesome. Although the ending was a little abrupt, King is always very good at leaving you wanting more . . .

A book of my favorite useless imformation in a comical fashion is

You Might be a Zombie and Other Bad news which is from the editors of Cracked.com

Oh my, if you enjoy useless information even half as much as I do you will love this book! Okay like one thing the book talks about is the urban legend about swallowing spiders in your sleep. Well you can all relax as this legend is totally false! In fact spiders are much more likely to drink from your eyeball then go into your mouth jeez! Anyways read this book, laugh your butt off and have a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

