Lesa Lu

Lesa Lu and you can too!

Best Birthday Ever!

on January 14, 2012

I am sorry I didn’t get to post this on my actual birthday . Β . after dinner I kind of crashed- hey it’s my birthday and I can go to bed early if I want! πŸ™‚

Well let’s see what happened after I last posted. I got a call from my Grandma wishing me a Happy Birthday and she said to expect a card in the mail, and you all should know how I feel about that! Though I must admit that after opening so many birthday cards in my childhood and getting used to money falling out it is hard to open cards as an adult, no money falls out anymore 😦 Don’t get me wrong presents are much better! It’s just that as a child you get conditioned to believe that no card should be addressed to you that doesn’t contain at least $5, it’s like Pavlov’s dogs. And then when you transition to adulthood and you start getting cards without money it always kind of makes you sad. Try as I might not to, every time I open a card I get a little excited (heart rate increases, smile surfaces) only to be let down. This is extremely difficult at Christmas when you get 20 cards or so in the mail, not that these are supposed to contain money, but still card=money is still ingrained in your brain. II have discovered a solution to this heartbreaking problem. Everyone should expect money from me in any type of card they receive from me from now on. Now since I am not rich, the money will be in the form of Monopoly dollars which have absolutely no cash value, unless you want to cheat at Monopoly. But it will be money nonetheless so you’re welcome! πŸ™‚

Anyways now that I have gotten completely off topic . . . After I picked up Maddox at school we went to get my whale cake from Nibblers Nook and I know you are all very excited to see it so . .

I am very excited for my Killer Whale cake! And the smell of this cake was absolutely intoxicating and filled my car the whole way home, not to mention it’s delicious πŸ™‚ Thank you Candy at Nibbler’s Nook! (it’s in the same building as Pier 17 off us. 60, if anyone needs the phone number to order their own delicious birthday cake just message me and I’ll pass on the goodies)

Next up Steff came over to help do my hair and eye makeup, Steff is amazing at eye makeup fyi! And then Drew came home and i got to open all my presents! I got 2 more from Drew and 1 from Steff.

This was the first from Drew and it was certainly my favorite . .

real pearl earrings, real gold and real diamonds! This is the nicest piece of jewelry we have ever purchased. I am so excited!!!

I must admit that I may have helped him out a little on picking these out . . .:) but the best part is that they were on sale which always makes me happy!! Thank you my wonderful husband, it was the nicest gift I have ever received and I love you!!!

The next present he got was something I was not expecting, he picked this out all on his own. He promised me it had no electricity as I am kinda technology illiterate!

It was an old-time writing set! It has a feather pen and ink that you have to dip the pen in! It also came with a wax seal and sealing wax!! You should all expect some old-time letters in the mail shortly though it is rather complicated looking so it may be awhile . . .

Next I got to open Steff’s present which she said she felt was very 70’s so I was very excited . .

She said she got it from a place in Huntington called Charming CharlieΒ which she said has very unique things and it is all arranged by color, which is something I love . .

It turns out it was a very 70’s looking scarf. πŸ™‚ I have absolutely no idea how to wear these so she had to give me a quick tutorial but I’m very excited! In fact she already picked out a shirt I can wear it with so I will be wearing it today! But wait there was more in the bag . .

Acute new wallet or small purse thing. I am not too good at picking out very stylish girly things so Steff is perfect for that! It’s like a wallet, it’s very small, but it has a little wrist strap so you can use it as purse! This is perfect for me as I can never manage to remember to carry a purse around. But this is so small I can put my cards and phone in it (which I usually try to shove in my pocket) and just drop it down into my book bag when I go to school. Plus it has a very 70’s peacock feather design which I love!! Thanks Steff, I love you my sister from another mother (not quote as catchy as the brother one)

Then it was time to start getting ready for dinner, Steff did my eye makeup and hair and I got a new dress for the occasion and this was the final result . .

very cold with no sleeves or pants but super cute!!

And here is some of Steff’s handy work, along with my super fancy new earrings from my awesome husband . .

It is so awesome to get all dressed up and feel pretty once in a while. I swear nursing school has brought out the inner skank in me! I am having a good day when I get to wash my hair πŸ™‚ Gross I know but that’s lesa in nursing school πŸ™‚

And here’s some pics of me and my awesome Hubby

and here’s me and my best friend Steff

and here’s me with mini-Drew, wait I mean my son Maddox

and I got to get a fancy new coat for the occasion which was crazy cheap!!

The Phillips Family πŸ™‚

After getting all dressed up we shipped Maddox off to hang out with Aunt Steffy, Granny CYN-CYN and Allen (which is part of my birthday present πŸ™‚ She fed him pizza, cupcakes, pop and watched RIO with him. Of course he had a blast and never wanted to leave but poor Steff was worn out πŸ™‚ I said being a parent means having an early bedtime and enjoying it! And while Steff was sugaring up Maddox me and Drew went to Hibachi’s for a romantic dinner. We had smoke salmon sushi (my favorite) and of course fried rice and shrimp. We also shared some drink called a scorpion that came in freakin bowl!! It was good but all we could handle, we are light-weights πŸ™‚ Then they sang Happy birthday in Japanese and brought me ice cream with a candle in it. My first birthday wish of the night that i am not at liberty to share . . But I will tell you i wish for the same thing every year on my birthday . . I bet your curious now πŸ™‚ And then we hit up our annual tradition of going to my favorite bookstore, Empire Book in Pullman square! They have old library bestsellers for $6 BOGO free, so we had to pick up a few . .or 4

Now I already own Under the Dome as it is one of the best books i have ever read, so this one i plan to give as a gift to a good friend of mine, Tessa, who introduced me to it. Full Dark No Stars, as you should know from my top books of 2011 list, I have also already read. But I listened to it on audio and I borrowed it from my library. the Help I saw the movie but haven’t read the book. the only one that is new to me is Half-Broke Horses by Jeanette Walls. This is the author who wrote “the Glass Castle” about growing up in the coal towns of WV. It was very good, though very depressing biography. This book is supposed to be her grandmother’s story and I am excited to read it. Though all leisure reading (expect audio books) will have to be put on hold till we get a break from Nursing school. There is no way I have time to read anything else with all the reading they assign! So for all those books i paid $12!!! You should all check out this bookstore as it is by far the best around!!

After leaving Huntington we picked up Mad from Steffany’s house. He was being wild as usual after 4 lbs of sugar and Steff had taken the ‘let him be wild’ approach. I told her she was crazy and tried to rein him in and failed πŸ™‚ Oh well! After multiple birthday well wishes and learing from Cyndy that I could claim the whole month of January as my birthday month, (yes that’s right it’s a whole month celebration!) It was off to eat some birthday cake! Now we couldn’t put 26 candles on the cake as that was a bit much, we used 4 ‘trick’ candles. Though I didn’t know they were trick candles until they magically relit about 7 seven times! Funny for the first 2 then frustrating πŸ™‚ At which time I got a second birthday wish!! I decided to use this for something a little different and probably more selfish, but hey it’s my birthday!

still can’t tell you what i wished for but I can show you pictures of my awful dance to the birthday song!

and after wishes and lots of birthday cake it was definitely bed time for this old lady πŸ™‚

Thank you to everyone who made this birthday the very best! Especially all the birthday messages on Facebook, even the ones that I had to sing myself πŸ™‚

And now it’s time to start planning for Drew’s birthday . . .

Leave a Reply

