Lesa Lu

Lesa Lu and you can too!

Torch + Cupcakes = Deliciousness

on January 27, 2012

Last weekend my husband and my son were working on Maddox’s pine wood derby car for cub scouts.

He made several unauthorized trips to lowes to buy “tools for said car”. I became a little suspicious on the third trip. Anyways he decides to show me this torch he bought that he was really proud of. Now I wouldn’t think you would need a torch for a pine WOOD derby car, but I guess I would be wrong. But when I saw the Β torch something in my brain clicked. I had remembered seeing an episode of DC cupcakes where they each made a s’mores cupcake and then torched the icing to get the ‘toasted marshmallow’ effect. This seemed like a brilliant idea to me! In fact I wondered why we hadn’t bought this torch sooner?!

The cupcakes were delicious though somewhat funny looking. But they were a ‘test batch’ so that was ok.

The icing did not thicken up like I hoped it would. In fact it kind of just slide right off the cupcakes πŸ™‚

The cupcakes have a graham cracker crust, layer of chocolate chips, homemade chocolate cake and then Marshmallow frosting

Then Steff came over last night and we tried again. This worked out much better. My mixer quit working in the middle of the first batch some I’m going to blame that πŸ™‚

2nd Batch

These cupcakes were cute and incredibly delicious!

Maddox frosted these himself.

But of course Drew was the only one responsible enough to wield a torch

And this is what the torching looks like up close, though you must be very careful not to catch the cupcake liners on fire! (Which is probably why i’m not allowed to work the torch πŸ™‚

But the best part by far was certainly enjoying our tasty creations

It was so much fun we have decided to open our own bakery! This is just added to the list of businesses we plan to open together πŸ™‚

And lastly I will leave you with some hilarious pictures of my husband that I took last week when he shaved off his goatee.

Before going completely clean-shaven he decided to show me what a “walrus mustache” looked like . . . and the results were hilarious!!

It was pretty funny and we all got a great laugh out of it. And now I have pictures incase I ever need to blackmail him or just laugh till I cry! I have the best husband ever who is willing to sacrifice his facial hair just to make me laugh!

Also I think we have a Halloween costume in order for next year, I think with this mustache he could make a pretty intimidating southern sheriff πŸ™‚

2 responses to “Torch + Cupcakes = Deliciousness

  1. Stacy Roberts says:

    You are going to have to send me the recipe for those cupcakes, they look sooo good..

  2. Angel says:

    they look yummy Lesa!! Love your blogs.

Leave a Reply

