Lesa Lu

Lesa Lu and you can too!

Happy Birthday to you . . You live in a zoo . . .

on March 2, 2012

Well today is the birthday of one of my very favorite authors  . . . no, not Stephen King. . .

I am so excited! I love Dr. Seuss!

In fact I had my son hooked on Dr. Seuss before he was even born. I had a book for him that I read to my belly everyday, it was “Oh Baby, The Places You’ll Go!” and it was so sweet.

Now he has moved on to more grown up versions of Dr. Seuss, such as, “Are You My Mother?” which he can read all by himself might I add!!

But the “Oh Baby . .” book was made especially to be read to your child in utero. It is so cute. It has pieces from most of his other books and was of course put together after his death. The insert in the beginning is from his wife and is extremely touching. The book speaks of some his well-known characters such as Horton and Cat in the Hat and just tells the unborn child how excited everyone is to meet them.

Some of my favorite lines were . .

“A person’s a person, no matter how small.” I believe that is from Horton hears a who.

“But whatever you do things won’t always go right . .” this one is about the Grinch and his too small heart

“While you are growing, we’re all busy counting, the days till we meet you, the excitement is mounting!”

“You’ll find this world’s a great place to begin, but it could use some help, which is where you come in . .”

And the final page . .

“So now, as my voice burple-urps in your ear, with a bump-thumpy sound that is not very clear, the words I am saying you hear in your heart, and know that I wish you the very best start . .  It’s a scumptulous world, and it’s ready to meet you. And as for myself . . well . . I can’t wait to meet you!”

This book is so beautiful and I’ll post the link here in case you want to buy it to read to your baby belly 🙂

In fact when I was pregnant I read this and “Goodnight Moon” (also an excellent choice) to my belly every day. I would also get very happy and sing my 2 happy songs while playing them on the cd player. I read somewhere that the baby would feel you were happy and associate that with those songs, and then when he was born and crying you could play those songs and he would remember the associations. Would you like to know my songs?

“Old Time Rock n’ Roll” By: Bob Seger

and

“Sweet Home Alabama” By: Lynyrd Skynyrd

Problem is once I got elbow deep in baby poo I kind of forgot to test this theory 🙂

But If anyone else is able to form coherent thought during the newborn period, despite the complete lack of sleep, please let me know if my theory pans out 🙂

Well I’m about to go get the little man at school. I’m going to surprise him with a special date . . .

Luckily at age 6 it’s still acceptable to be seen with your mother at the movies in public. The day when he informs me that this is no longer acceptable will result in a super embarrassing mommy hissy fit in public . . .I hope it never comes to that, but if I’m forced to play that card, then I think you all know I will!!

Anyways

Happy Dr. Seuss Birthday to all

I hope you all have a ball!

(oh Dr. Seuss would be so embarrassed by my sad rhyme 😦

Leave a Reply

